On Ice Skating, Pastel Skies, and Korean Food

March has been pretty eventful. School is over and that means summer has officially kicked in! Just the thought of having three months away from school leaves me with an endless list of things to do… and I don’t even know how to start. But in between all that fun and freedom is having to review for college entrance exams, as well as to decide on what to major in for the next four years of life (seriously, knowing that applications are already this May kills me). I try not to think about it, but it’s chasing me like a dog being chased by its owner. Anyway, I don’t mean to burst your bubble as well as mine, so relax, unwind and enjoy the summer heat for now!

My friends and I celebrated the first day of summer—on ice! As Mika (whose blog shall not be mentioned, as per request, but I know it can be found here somewhere, haha) said, it’s pretty ironic how we chose to spend it that way instead of going to the beach or something like that, when it’s summer after all. From school, we headed to Taft to have lunch which was Mariah’s treat, and we went to MoA right after to do some ice-skating.

DSC01268

Taken at the bridge connecting MoA and the establishment opposite it. I like how the colors of the sky came to be during that time. Too bad we weren’t able to see the sunset at Manila Bay, which I bet would’ve been gorgeous.

DSC01246
Obviously played around with brushes and curves. I was going for that tourist-y or postcard effect, if there is such thing, because my dad said that the snowy mountain background made it look like we were abroad. Well, I think I ultimately failed at it. Hahaha.

The little kid just came up to us and it seemed like she didn’t want to leave for the picture. Well, the more, the merrier! And she was just adorable… would you just look at those neon purple skates and pink safety gear.

DSC01257

Well, all my friends were pros in their skates and obviously, I sucked. I don’t expect anything from myself when it comes to things like this, so… yeah. So much for landing on the ice twice. Hahahaha. /wrist

Despite looking like an idiot on the rink, I was sort of able to redeem myself through what else, but capturing these moments through the point-and-shoot!

DSC01262

To the people who were attempting to push me on the slippery ice and let go off my hand… here’s my revenge on you!!! *insert evil laugh here* Don’t worry friends, nobody reads this anyway. Hahahaha.

DSC01286
DSC01282

DSC01285

L-R: Filipino, Canadian, Italian, Korean (face not shown).

One of the things I find cool about our group is how “diverse” it is. Unity in Diversity, yeah! We all hail from three different continents. There’s Anna from Canada, the one with the passion for fashion; Tim, the polyglot, born-and-bred in Italy; and Joy, the Korean who is good at everything but denies it. But of course, that doesn’t leave the 3 M’s behind! Mariah, whose pride in coming from Bacolod shows through her statuses in Skype all written in Ilonggo; Mika, who has a good understanding of Kapampangan… and there’s me, the lone Manileñan. Yeah, I’m boring, I got no life story. Lol. Well, my roots can be found in Bulacan, in a town where carabaos kneel in front of the church during fiesta. Tagalog is spoken there, so it sucks that I know no dialect!

It’s always nice to have a good understanding of different cultures. You get to know how things normal for you become so weird for others (like how Joy has nightmares with lechon and an apple on its mouth, I believe, haha). But the best of them all is… getting to go to their country of origin with them, with them being your tour guide. The best culture encounter. Yes! Yes! Yeeeeeees!

And speaking of culture, getting to taste other food is awesome too!

DSC01325

The day after, my friends from my class and I hung out for dinner at Jang Ga Nae Restaurant in Aguirre. Anya, who loves anything and everything Korean, set up this Korean feast, inviting her fellow fanatics—Jem, Joy (our tour guide), Gabby, and me. Gabby wasn’t able to make it, so it was, well… a girls’ night out over Korean cravings on a Friday evening. We planned this ever since the start of this year, I think, and I was so happy it actually happened!

DSC01309

Jem gave me this from Taiwan! So thoughtful of her. She also gave me a Taipei subway ticket (!!!!) which I immediately added to my collection! Thanks, Jem!

DSC01311

Everything was so good and healthy. If you don’t eat vegetables, then I don’t think you’d enjoy this type of cuisine. It was so unfortunate for us that our dinner fell right on a Friday, so we weren’t able to eat meat due to Lenten abstinence. You see that black plate of meat? I wonder who ate everything… ehem, ehem, hahaha.

DSC01313

Korean friends unite! We’re not Korean… only one of us is, but yeah, the other two are Koreans in their own way too. Haha. DSC01315

Anya: It’s my first time to eat at a Korean restaurant with a Korean!

Joy: It’s my first time to eat at a Korean restaurant… with Filipinos!

Wonderful firsts, right?

DSC01318

Cold noodles! I wasn’t able to take note of what it’s called, but I’m sure Jem and Anya know the name just by the sight of it. The one surrounding it is ice. Wow, the other day, we were stepping on ice, and day after, we were stuffing it in our mouths. Just something I realized right now.

DSC01322

As we stood up with happy tummies, this guy, whose name shall not be mentioned (haha, his name is Martin), appeared out of nowhere. I’m posting this because I know that one day, this guy will go places. And we can all say, “Hey, that guy knows us!” Hahahaha photo op right there. I told Joy that it would be perfect if he would audition for PBB because he’d get in. He would. Really.

These past two consecutive days were great, and just when I tell myself that I’d finally catch up on some rest at home, another gimmick is on its way, with another group from my class. But who am I to complain—I love going out with good people, wherever, whenever! The only downside of all this is that it leaves me with empty pockets, but, yes, you wouldn’t trade a good conversation over good food for anything.

Leave a Lovely Thought

