Hobby: Penpals

I started writing to penpals (otherwise known as penfriends or e-pals) around three years ago. I was in grade school back then.

A penpal is someone (usually a person you don’t personally know) you write letters to and receive letters from. I started writing to penpals since I am fond of culture, friendship and languages. I don’t do it on a regular basis though -usually when I have time. I write via e-mail or snail mail. I prefer snail mail since I think that it is more sincere and realistic and at the same time, my penpals and I get to give each other stuff. I can say that this is a hobby you won’t easily get tired of since you can always have new penpals from different countries, and, just like with our real friends, we can never run out of things to talk about.

Here are a couple of letters I’ve received. Some send postcards too. I also receive bookmarks, coins, pens, stickers and pictures.
 I got a package today from Catlin! (Snoopy magic towel, cherry lip balm, Huckleberry taffy and her letter)
I got a package today from Catlin! (Snoopy magic towel, cherry lip balm, Huckleberry taffy and her letter)

When I mention to people that I write to penpals, some of them get the wrong impression. Some say that I’m looking for a boyfriend. I do this for friendship and leisure. I’m fond of people so I really enjoy writing to and getting to know them.

One thought on “Hobby: Penpals

  1. […] We were penpals when I was still in freshman year. It was even so thoughtful of her to send me a package with the most adorable things (such as homemade Huckleberry taffy) out of her own want during our […]

Leave a Lovely Thought

